Is James Taylor’s next studio album his last?

James Taylor spoke with Rolling Stone following his performance at the Democratic National Convention, and revealed that his next studio album of original material might be his last. However, he does have plans for more albums not written by James, such as a standards album and a foreign language album.

I’m taking 2013 to finish writing songs and to make a new album. I don’t know if it’s going to be my last studio album or not. I’m 64 now, and I’ll be 65 when it’s released. It’s been 10 years since the last album of original stuff. I’ve released four albums since then, but they’ve been other people’s compositions. I want to make the next James Taylor album, and possibly the last one.

When I look at the body of work of Frank Sinatra, I wish he had made two more albums. I’m glad Tony Bennett is still out there making albums in his 80s, so you never really can tell what hand you’ll get dealt. But at this point there is not the urgency to squeeze this stuff out. I would like to make a standards album, to make some more foreign language work. Who knows what’s next? I’ve got about nine songs at various degrees of completion, so I feel good that will come out.

Read the full interview here.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Interviews, James Taylor, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is James Taylor’s next studio album his last?

  1. Pingback: Six Word Saturday 10.20.2012 | Lady Barefoot Baroness

Leave a Reply

