Carly Simon remembers Marvin Hamlisch

Carly Simon posted the following message to her website:

I’m writing only because I’ve heard that death is real, and here, deep in the night, I recall one of the wonderful things he did for me. I don’t want to diminish its nobility by writing something pithy, but damn it, I loved the guy. The sweetness beneath the ‘prodigy’ and slightly ‘goofy’ personality.

Once I was working on a song called “I Forget” and it was missing something that I couldn’t find that would hoist it ‘over’, make it mean something more. I called Marvin and like a Doctor who was making a special house call (though at his house, which was much more comfortable for both of us), he heard the song one time, and gave me the chord on his piano that was what I might have heard in my dreams, if only I’d been smart enough. There was both talent and instinct in Marvin’s generosity. I’ll love him on and on.

Love, Carly

Marvin Hamlisch passed away on Monday August 6 at the age of 68 after a brief illness. He co-wrote “Nobody Does It Better” with Carole Bayer Sager for the movie The Spy Who Loved Me, along with the above-mentioned assistance on “I Forget”, which first appeared on Carly Simon’s The Bedroom Tapes from 2000.

Carole Bayer Sager shared with Showbiz411 her memories of writing “Nobody Does It Better” with Marvin Hamlisch.

Hamlisch, she recalls, had to persuade [producer] Cubby Broccoli to let her write the song since he usually used movie composers like John Barry. “He convinced Cubby to give me a chance.” Hamlisch and Sager called Carly Simon, and “Marvin went up to see her. She loved it and I loved her rendition of it. At the end she sings James I love you and we never knew if she was singing about James Bond or James Taylor.” The song was a huge hit, and was nominated for an Oscar.

You can make donations in Marvin’s memory to the Marvin Hamlisch Scholarship Fund at The Juilliard School:

Juilliard School Development Office.
Attention: Riccardo Salmona
60 Lincoln Center Plaza
New York, NY 10023

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Carly Simon, News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carly Simon remembers Marvin Hamlisch

  1. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

