Carly Simon Writing Autobiography/Memoir

Carly Simon revealed in a new Reuters interview on the occasion of her receiving the ASCAP Founders Award at the ASCAP Expo that she is working on a book about her own life.

“I’m trying to spend the rest of the year getting completed with the book. I’m not sure how I’ll sell it, either as a memoir or an autobiography. I have an agent. It seems like everyone is writing memoirs or everyone in the music business is. Hopefully, by the time mine comes it will have died down. But this is not as (crucial) as the writing of the story.”

Asked whether writing a book is like writing songs, Carly responded:

“Yes. It’s like baking. Writing books is like a combination of writing a song and a letter. I love writing songs. It’s my love.”

This new book is most likely her way of setting the record straight after the highly problematic More Room in a Broken Heart: The True Adventures of Carly Simon “by” Stephen Davis.

Carly also talks about how the music industry turned their back on her when she was diagnosed with cancer, her struggles with stuttering versus stage fright, and more.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Carly Simon, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carly Simon Writing Autobiography/Memoir

  1. Dan Silagi says:

    I am very pleased to learn that Carly is going to write her own memoirs. Originally, I had read she wasn’t, but after Davis’ dreck, I’m glad she’s going to set the record straight (not that she hasn’t already done so with most of her music). This is one book I will definitely buy; I already have all her music in one form or another (CD, tape, MP3, and vinyl, in some cases all four, although I’m an old-style guy who prefers CD’s).

    I was also quite gratified to see that Carly’s just as easy on the eyes as she was 40 years ago.

Leave a comment