Jason Mraz likes Money Machine

Yesterday’s San Diego Union-Tribune has an interview with singer-songwriter Jason Mraz who talks about meeting James Taylor at the Stand Up To Cancer fundraising event, and hoping to introduce his mother to James at this weekend’s Grammy Awards. The blog Sathya Sai Baba has a transcription.

JASON MRAZ: I’m going to go this year because I’d like to at least say ‘thank you’ for the acknowledgment. And I’m taking my mom. I got to meet James Taylor in September (at a Los Angeles fundraising concert) and we had a great conversation. If I can at least introduce my mom to Taylor then I’ll score some big points. I met him at the ‘Stand up to Cancer’ event that all of Hollywood put on. James was walking by me, and I said, ‘I’m a fan of ‘Money Machine,’ a crazy disco song from his (1976) album ‘In the Pocket.’

Q: Was he taken aback?

JASON MRAZ: He LOVED that I brought up that song and told me he was trying to go for a ‘little disco dance flavor.’ I said, ‘Dude, that’s what I try to go for with my songs.’ I think he realized then that I wasn’t a little Jonas Brothers (fan). Then, the conversation started rolling and we started showing each other our tattoos.

Q: What kind of tattoos does James Taylor have?

JASON MRAZ: He’s got – was it a peace sign? It was some sort of celestial thing on his arm that he got instead of his sister getting it. You couldn’t even make out what it was anymore.

The tattoo is actually the Taylor Family Sign, which was designed by James’ sister Kate Taylor. James’ daughter Sally Taylor explained the story right here.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in James Taylor, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

