Spitball Army likes Cat Stevens’ Mona Bone Jakon

The blog Spitball Army has posted The 2008 Top 10 List: Music, and makes room for some older albums that were either reissued or rediscovered over the past year. Cat Stevens’ album Mona Bone Jakon comes in at #13.

I was thrilled when A&M re-issued what I considered the two finest Cat Stevens albums – Tea for the Tillerman and Teaser and the Firecat – as Deluxe Editions this past Fall. That got me listening to some of his later albums again, in reassessment mode. I realized that I had never heard the album Cat had released immediately prior to those two, Mona Bone Jakon. After a quick download, I found myself listening to it repeatedly. I now count it among my favorites of his. You all probably know “Trouble,” which was featured in the film Harold & Maude, but there are even better gems that that on Mona Bone Jakon.

The post includes a streaming MP3 of the song “Maybe You’re Right” from the album.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Cat Stevens / Yusuf, Commentary, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

