Carly Simon stirs memories

The blog Kellementology listens to some of Carly Simon’s big hits and “That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be” in particular, and thinks back on choices she’s made in her life.

But my favorite was “That’s the Way I Always Heard it Should Be,” the haunting melody something I loved even though at that point in my life, I wouldn’t have been able to relate to the words — a giving up of one’s self to something others did just because that’s what was done.

I was too naive to see things that way.  I was too busy looking for fairy tales of my own and thinking they were something that existed instead of something created.  It takes a few mistakes to arrive at that conclusion.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Carly Simon, Commentary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carly Simon stirs memories

  1. kellypea says:

    That was quick. I just posted that. So what are your thoughts on Carly Simon, her songs, the one I mentioned in particular and its relevance to her real life? Or do you just cut and paste? Only wondering.

  2. Corey Blake says:

    Hi Kelly,

    Thanks for posting! Frequently when I post about something I think readers might want to check out I’m short on time so I don’t always get a chance to add my own comments. I need to work on that, though.

    “That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be” has always been one of my favorite Carly Simon songs.

    In college I wrote a script for a short film heavily inspired by the song. (OK, it was basically an adaptation.) Several times I’ve been tempted to pull the script out, tighten it up, re-write it, and shoot it. Maybe some day…

    I’m reading “Girls Like Us” right now. Just finished the first chapter (I’m a terribly slow reader when it comes to books) and it talks quite a bit about the song and its relevance to Carly’s life. Interesting read so far. Have you read it?

    -Corey

  3. swampzoid says:

    of all of carly’s hits, “that’s the way i’ve always heard it should be” and “coming around again” are her lovliest – and both are about marraige.

  4. Bye2luv says:

    swampzoid! Those two are my favorites!!!! They NEVER get old!!! Coming Around Again always seems to refresh my soul and give me hope, even in things not about love.

Leave a Reply

