Monday MP3: I Forget by Carly Simon

I Forget by Carly Simon

This week’s song is “I Forget” from Carly Simon’s overlooked gem The Bedroom Tapes, released May 16, 2000.

Yes, I forgot to do the Monday MP3 last week. But really I chose this song because my father-in-law is sick right now. Of course Carly was writing about her battle with breast cancer, which she fortunately survived. It’s a powerfully honest and vulnerable look at herself during that time. She almost definitely had a rougher road than what my father-in-law has been going through. He should be fine but right now he’s in that ugly spot which this song captures brilliantly. 

Hopefully this isn’t too much of a bummer for a Monday morning.

“I Forget”
(Carly Simon)

All my doctors and friends 
Have concocted these theories 
Weary of seeing me day after day 
On the edge of my bed 
Leery of living 
My laughter on hold 
My sadness on stay 

And it’s been this way for quite a while
Yes, I forget how to smile 
I’d like to rely on my old game and yet,
Even that I forget 
It’s not there, I regret 

Couldn’t get up today 
I pretended a fever 
Any excuse but the truth will do
I don’t lie very well
No I’m not a deceiver 
But I can’t bring myself to admit that I’m blue 

And it’s been this way for quite a while 
Yes, I forget how to smile
I’d like to rely on my old game and yet
Even that I forget 
It’s not there, I regret 

The clock and the calendar 
Both an assault 
Time goes so slow 
It must be my fault 
I act like I’m okay 
When I’m not okay at all 

I forget what to do 
I forget what it all means 
Don’t remember if love ever really felt good 
I forget to be here 
And not in-between 
I’d put on a good show 
If only I could…

And it’s been this way for quite a while 
Yes, I forget how to smile 
I’d like to rely on my old game and yet
Even that I forget 
It’s not there, I regret 
I forget…

© 2000 C’est Music, administered by Universal-Polygam International Publishing, Inc. (ASCAP)

Carly Simon – keyboards
Eric Bazillian – electric guitars
Tony Garnier – bass
Steve Gadd – drums 

Produced by Carly Simon with David Field & Frank Filipetti
Mixed by Frank Filipetti
Recording engineers: Carly Simon, Frank Filipetti, Jimmy Parr, Ed Tuton 

(Monday MP3s will only remain available for a limited time.)

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Carly Simon, Music For Mondays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

