Simon Sisters Sing Songs For Children scheduled for December re-release

The music label Shout Factory has scheduled the re-release of The Simon Sisters album The Simon Sisters Sing Songs for Children for December 2, 2008, according to listings on and The album does not yet appear on

The album was the third and final album of the folk duo comprised of sisters Lucy Simon and Carly Simon. Originally released in 1969 as The Simon Sisters Sing the Lobster Quadrille and Other Songs for Children by Columbia Records (their only recording from Columbia), the album was re-issued in 1973 with the shorter title and a new mix that included some overdubbed instrumentation, likely to cash in on Carly Simon’s solo career success. No word yet on which version of the album will be used for this CD edition, although the title choice suggests the 1973 version.

The track listing doesn’t appear to include any bonus tracks:

  1. Wynken, Blynken and Nod
  2. Calico Pie
  3. The Lamplighter
  4. The Own and the Pussycat
  5. Sleep Baby, Sleep
  6. The Lamb
  7. The Lobster Quadrille
  8. Who Has Seen the Wind?
  9. I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day
  10. A Red, Red Rose
  11. A Pavane for the Nursery

In 2006, Hip-O-Select released Winkin’, Blinkin’ and Nod: The Kapp Recordings, a limited edition compilation of the first two albums by The Simon Sisters, Meet the Simon Sisters and Cuddlebug, both originally released on Kapp Records in 1964. The CD came with a 12-page booklet that includes archive photos and liner notes by Carly Simon.

No word on what sort of input Carly Simon will have on this new re-release, but the good news is that finally all three Simon Sisters albums will be available on CD for the first time.

“Winkin’, Blinkin’ and Nod” was a minor hit for the Simon Sisters in 1964. Their third album opened with a re-recording (and alternate spelling) of the song.

(Thanks to Rich at Carly Simon Online for catching this!)


About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Carly Simon, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simon Sisters Sing Songs For Children scheduled for December re-release

  1. Pingback: Sing Songs For Children update « The Troubadour Tribune

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s