James Taylor on returning to Wilmington, NC

StarNewsOnline spoke with James Taylor about returning to Wilmington, North Carolina, for a free concert on Tuesday evening in support of Senator Barack Obama.

On the last time he played in Wilmington:

“It was some kind of high school event that I don’t remember much about,” Taylor said Thursday in a phone interview from western Massachusetts, where his wife works with the Boston Symphony. “It’s been a long time, and it was a short visit.”

Taylor, 60, who grew up in Chapel Hill, said he was drawn to Obama because he believes in the “possibility of government doing good things for people, who are drawn to it out of a sense of public service.”

He said the Obama campaign represents for him a “re-engagement by people, a sort of reawakening of a spirit of participation and responsibility in our own government.”

“I feel as though something is stirring in this country, and it is very thrilling,” said Taylor, who met Obama once at a function with Tony Bennett in Washington, D.C.

“I just think on so many fronts I am really impressed by Barack Obama’s vision and his ability to listen to people in the country,” he said.

“I always like to get as much support as I can musically when I perform, but they made it clear that because of what’s appropriate from a campaign finance point of view, they can’t be spending all kinds of money,” he said. “They want me to show up with a guitar, they want me to speak a little bit, to play a few songs, and I think other people are going to speak as well.”

This is all about convincing people who are undecided,” he said. “I would really encourage them to have an open mind. There’s still plenty of time to really look at who these two candidates are and take a good hard look at who offers the better plan for America. That’s what I would say to them.”

“I’ve written a few political songs, but most of them are pretty angry, pretty bitter and that’s really not the way I feel,” he said. “I feel excited and honored really, and also I feel great to be back in North Carolina.”

The article mentions that James plans on playing “Carolina In My Mind” (naturally) and either “The Star-Spangled Banner” or “America, the Beautiful”.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Interviews, James Taylor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to James Taylor on returning to Wilmington, NC

  1. I cannot believe that he is still performing. I’ve enjoyed him since I was a teenager.

  2. I can’t belive that he is still around. I’ve enjoyed him since the 1970s.

Leave a Reply

