James Taylor on Tavis Smiley

PBS.org has posted video, audio and a transcript of James Taylor’s October 8th appearance on “Tavis Smiley”. This is James’ second appearance on the show. He talks about his new release Covers, his current guitar and how he started playing. 

I was brought up in the context of, like, the Episcopal hymnal I think is probably what is at the center of my, along with the rest of the Western world, is at the center of my musical experience. And I learned those songs.

Those songs like that’s “Jerusalem,” and “A Mighty Fortress is Our God,” and all of those tunes I worked out when I was in school on the guitar, and the endless bored, empty moments that there were. There’s time today for young people, it seems to be just filled with distractions constantly. But when I was a kid, I was bored. There was empty time, and a lot of it – time to kill, time to have long, circular thoughts.

So I sat – once the guitar started giving me sounds back that I liked, I was off and running, and I worked up hymns and Christmas carols and then started learning things that other people taught me, and songs that I liked. So that’s it, that’s what you hope for in this life anyway, is to find what it is that you love the most and then just follow it. Follow it as far as you can.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Interviews, James Taylor, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

