Covers: Modern Hymns by Darrell Scott

Country singer/songwriter Darrell Scott (“Long Time Gone” and “Heartbreak Town” for The Dixie Chicks, “When There’s No One Around” for Garth Brooks, “It’s A Great Day To Be Alive” for Travis Tritt and “Born To Fly” for Sara Evans) released a covers album last week called Modern Hymns, which includes 2 Joni Mitchell songs, as well as songs written by Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Gordon Lightfoot and Kris Kristofferson. The track listing follows:

  1. “All The Lovely Ladies” (Gordon Lightfoot)
  2. “Urge For Going” (Joni Mitchell)
  3. “Out Among The Stars” (Joni Mitchell)
  4. “Jesus Was A Capricorn” (Kris Kristofferson)
  5. “The Devil” (Hoyt Axton)
  6. “James” (Lyle Mays and Pat Metheny)
  7. “Frisco Depot” (Mickey Newbury)
  8. “American Tune” (Paul Simon)
  9. “Nobody Eats At Linebaugh’s Anymore” (John Hartford)
  10. “Joan Of Arc” (Leonard Cohen)
  11. “I Don’t Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Met)” (Bob Dylan)
  12. “That Old Time Feeling” (Guy Clark) has an interview with Scott, where he talks about converting “Urge For Going” and “American Tune” into bluegrass tunes and the spiritual thread that connects the songs.

About Corey Blake

Corey Blake does things on the Internet, and sometimes even in real life.
This entry was posted in Covers, Joni Mitchell and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s